Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes Winners

Thirty-two horses have been eligible to win the Triple Crown coming into the Belmont Stakes and 11 have succeeded. The following is a list of those who won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes and then faltered in the mile and a half Belmont.

Derby & Belmont - Horses that won the Kentucky Derby and Belmont Stakes

Preakness & Belmont - Horses that won the Preakness and Belmont Stakes

Derby & Preakness - Horses that won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes


Year Horse Ran Owner Winner
1944 Pensive 2 Calumet Farm Bounding Home
1958 Tim Tam 2 Calumet Farm Cavan
1961 Carry Back 7 Mrs. Katherine Price Sherluck
1964 Northern Dancer 3 Windsfield Farm Quadrangle
1966 Kauai King 4 Michael Ford Amberoid
1968 Forward Pass 2 Calumet Farm Stage Door Johnny
1969 Majestic Prince 2 Frank McMahon Arts And Letters
1971 Canonero II 4 Edgard Calbett Pass Catcher
1979 Spectacular Bid 3 Hawksworth Farm Coastal
1981 Pleasant Colony 3 Buckland Farm Summing
1987 Alysheba 4 Dorothy and Pamela Scharbauer Bet Twice
1989 Sunday Silence 2 Arthur Hancock III Easy Goer
1997 Silver Charm 2 Robert and Beverly Lewis Touch Gold
1998 Real Quiet 2 Mike Pegram Victory Gallop
1999 Charismatic 3 Bob & Beverly Lewis Lemon Drop Kid
2002 War Emblem 8 The Thoroughbred Corporation Sarava
2003 Funny Cide 3 Sackatoga Stable Empire Maker
2004 Smarty Jones 2 Someday Farm Birdstone
2008 Big Brown Last Place IEAH Stables Da'Tara
2012 I'll Have Another Did not start Zayat Stables Union Rags
2014 California Chrome 4 Perry Martin and Steve Coburn Tonalist